Camilleri and Marsh head Moranbah field

Camilleri and Marsh head Moranbah field

Spearheaded by last year’s champion, young gun Kye Camilleri #666 and current QLD championship front runner Zac Marsh #614, head this weekend’s 2023 Primec Moranbah Short Course, Round 4 of the ARB Mickey Thompson Tyres Queensland Championship, and Round 2 of the Mickey Thompson Tyres North Queensland Championship is certain to be another epic battle.

Camilleri, a two time Moranbah champion in 2022, after also triumphing at the Yore Contractors 100 last year, and Marsh who collected his maiden outright victory at Federal in March, are joined in the field by North Queensland Ultimate competitor Drew Callander #99 in the teams V8 powered Razorback, and Callander’s son Trent #127 in his Class 1 Southern Cross. Polaris campaigner Tony Patterson #675S who sits fourth outright in the QLD championship and Class 6s pacesetter Luke Brandon #690S, along with James Sant #1144 in his newly acquired Class 11 machine and Stuart Chapman #815 who is set to compete in the teams Class 8 Triton, are others who will be vying for outright honours.

Close battles for silverware across all classes is again expected at Moranbah; with last year’s Class 2 victor Mark Andrew #295a, teammate Colin Gaven #295, Brian Bradford #264 and local female hard charger Taylor Teichmann #236 all poised for the Class 2 fight. Jason Sait #674, Tyson Howard #6168 and the third of the Callander entries Jye #699 will be chasing bragging rights in Class 6, with Jason Keane #1013, Rob Stieber #1082, Tony Butler #520, Nigel Pearce #6608 and Symon Knight #1175 all set to be competitive in their respective classes.

Darren Brandon #689S joins son Luke, daughter Lara #689Sa, Tony Patterson, North Queenslander Ryan Jones 612s, Leila Chapman 616s and Kane Prechelt #694s in Class 6S, whilst Class 8 veterans Ross Challacombe #838, and Rob Chapman #871 plus championship leader Stuart Zlotkowski #811 are all prepared for a Moranbah assault.

The Future Champions Class for kids between 10-14 years of age, fully sanctioned and supported by AASA returns on the weekend, with superstars in the making, including; last year’s champion Toby Musico #6688, Mitchell Jones #6631, Olivia Pearce #6608 and current championship leader Hollie Gardener #6689 set to follow their idols around the Moranbah track.

The Queensland Off Road Racing Championship would like to thank their major naming right sponsors ARB and Mickey Thompson Tyres for continuing their strong partnership in 2023, whilst expressing full gratitude towards the other championship sponsors, including Dynamic Wheel Co, Lucas Papaw Remedies, Premium Soil Conditioners and Fertilisers, Comiskey Mining Services,  North Lakes Best Western, plus Polaris Farm & Garden Produce.

The Mackay Offroad Racing Inc. would like to sincerely thank their sponsors, including their naming right partners Primec, along with JJ Richards, Total Generators, Ausco Buildings and Newman Trucking and Excavations who have made the 2023 Moranbah Short Course possible.

With another quality line up of crews ready to hit the track at Ray and Virginia Newman’s property in 2023, there are many contenders who could place their name on the Moranbah honour roll. There are full camping facilities available all weekend, along with free spectating of the action, which will commence from 7.30am both days. Queensland racing is alive and well!

See the event details here >

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon