Chapman and McGuire Champions of Hillston

Chapman and McGuire Champions of Hillston

Queenslanders Clayton Chapman and Adam McGuire #15 continued their dream run of form at the weekend’s 2024 ARB Tyrepower Griffith The Gap 440, capitalising on their overnight lead to claim a dominant front running 4.11minute victory. 

In a reversal of the top two from Rainbow earlier in the season, Chapman held off a spirited Beau Robinson and Shane Hutt #1113 in his Toyota powered Razorback to secure a second national round triumph in his past three starts.

Robinson #1113 did his ARB Australian Championship credentials no harm, the Western Australian made a last lap pass on local Jason Richards #119 in his 7L OBR Mason Trophy Truck to secure second, setting up a mouth watering clash with Chapman at Goondiwindi. 

In his Class 1 winning Chenowth, Richards #119 alongside his children Charlotte and Sam snuck home for third, their first ARB podium since Rainbow in 2022. Despite an ongoing engine miss on Sunday, Richards stayed consistent to cross 1.33mins adrift of Robinson. 

Last year’s ARB Australian championship podium sitters Matt Burrows and Jay Mitchell #3 recorded a career best fourth outright finish in their Class 1 Jimco, an impressive late flurry from Burrows pushed South Australian’s Simon and Kyle Tucker #110 to fifth, and third in Class 1; with only seven seconds separating the two crews. 

Local members Steven and Ella Graham #1065 overcame a disappointing opening day to secure Class 10 honours and sixth outright in their Alumicraft, whilst North Queenslanders James and Lizzy Sant #1144 survived the tough Hillston terrain to finish second in Class 11, and seventh outright. 

Class 10 runners up Sam Bentley and Tom Burrows #1018 showcased their bright future crossing in eighth, holding off Ultimate runners up Craig and Megan Barnett #68 who continued on their incredible championship streak in ninth; with the second Bentley crew of Hayden and Hannah #1118 rounding out the ARB Tyrepower Griffith The Gap 440 top ten in their Class 11 Racer TT. 

Queenslander Justin Rider alongside navigators Steven Teese and Levi Hamilton #627 survived a hard charging Lachlan and Greg Campbell #607 for Class 6 supremacy, with Kincrome Racing’s Jackson Evans and Samuel Raper #635 settling for third, after an electrical gremlin halted their run on Saturday. 

The Class 4 silverware was awarded to Darren Mott and Daniel Floyd #435 who dominated proceedings, the Sea Lake locals finished ahead of John Smith and Grant Manion #445, Mark and Mark Paul Grant #405 in second and third respectively.    

Brendan Forssman and Leigh Whitehand #202 made it three consecutive ARB national round Class 2 triumphs; whilst Heath and Michelle Weedon #701 looking to defend their Class 7 crown, Guy Shoemark and Simon Finlay #882, plus Ross Newman and Chris Leonard #6681 all reigned in their respective classes.

In other results, Chris Land and Tanya Gaudry #80 were at their consistent best to round out The Gap 440 Ultimate podium, Adrian Coatsworth and Roy Daykin #265 secured second in Class 2, Darren and Kayleen Gill #760 crossed the line second in the battle of the Class 7 Patrols, whilst local Dean Meginley and Dean DeMarco #1087 were awarded third in Class 10 despite bowing out during Sundays section. 

Over half the field of 44 starters completed full race distance at Hillston, with notables not to finish including defending champion Brent Martin #916, Paul Grant #405, Guy Shoemark #882, Queenslanders Michael Marson #32, Russell Hartnett #1012, Stuart Chapman #1014, and David Loughnan #104, plus locals Dean Meginley #1087, Karl Power #1047, Glenn Collis #147 and Dale Standen #23.

The 2024 The Gap 440 would not have been possible without the support of championship partners ARB 4X4 Accessories, Mickey Thompson Tyres, Raceline Wheels Australia, and Dynamic Wheel Co, along with the naming right partner Tyrepower Griffith; and camera sponsors Bursons, Serafin Ag Pro Fendt, Conipara Hotel, and Harveys Service Centre.

In addition, a massive thank you must go to the Gold Sponsors, including MR Trans, Show n Go Photography, Riverina Logistics, Deans Auto Electrical, Horne Ag, Farm Freight, Ag Grow, Terra Ag Fuel, Codemo, Elders Griffith, Melbergen Pastoral, Albins, McNabbs Mobile, Rivcott, and Lake Machinery Services, plus all the other amazing sponsors either small, large or in-kind who all assisted in so many ways.

The 2024 ARB Australian Off Road Racing Championship will now turn its attention to Round 3, the ARB Gundy 500; held over the 9th-11th of August.

By TC Media

Pics courtesy of Show N Go Photography

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon