Chapman Charges to Hillston Lead

Chapman Charges to Hillston Lead

2023 Gundy 500 champions Clayton Chapman and Adam McGuire #15 have commenced the ARB Tyrepower Griffith The Gap 440 in style, finishing the opening day with a 1.11min advantage in the team’s Toyota powered Razorback. 

In perfect conditions, Chapman who claimed the mornings prologue by 3.8 seconds led from start to finish, crossing ahead of local Class 1 stalwart Jason Richards and daughter Charlotte #119 who are searching for a maiden ARB Australian round victory in their 3.5L powered Chenowth.

ARB Big Desert 480 victors Beau Robinson and Shane Hutt #1113 finished third outright in their Class 11 Mason TT just 5.6 seconds behind Richards, with North Queenslander Michael Marson #32 who has since withdrawn due to an engine issue, and South Australian Simon Tucker #110 rounding out the top five. 

Russell Hartnett#1012 continued his love affair with Hillston to lead a jam packed Class 10 field, with the inform Justin Rider #627, Sea Lake’s Darren Mott #435, Brendan Forssman #202, and Heath Weedon #701 all heading their respective classes.

Only four competitors were unable to finish today’s lap including Adrian Coatsworth #265, Beau Ely #669, Ross Newman #6681 and Eden Evans #637, with defending champion Brent Martin #916, and Class 6 prologue winner Jackson Evans #635 both suffering issues during lap one.

Action kicks off at 8.30am tomorrow morning, with four 83km laps to decide a new 2024 ARB Tyrepower Griffith The Gap 440 champion. 

By TC Media

Pics courtesy of Show N Go Photography

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon