Burdekin primed for QLD showdown

Burdekin primed for QLD showdown

By TC Media
Headlined by past champions Talbot Cox #16 and Michael Marson #32, this weekend’s Padman Water Solutions Burdekin Short Course, Round 3 of the ARB Mickey Thompson Tyres Queensland Championship, and Round 1 of the Mickey Thompson Tyres North Queensland Championship is set to be another epic battle.

Due to last weekend’s wild and wet conditions across the north of the state, the Burdekin Offroaders were forced into changing their iconic Burdekin 300 into a short course round, one which will still be well supported with 61 crews entered for the popular North Queensland event.



Joining club members and multiple time Burdekin winners Cox and Marson in the field include QLD championship and Class 6 front runner Zac Marsh #614 who claimed a maiden outright victory at the recent Federal Short Course, past Burdekin podium sitter Kent Battle #31 in his Element Prodigy, Class 1 stalwart Tony Fehlaber #138 who is fresh off a runner up finish at Round 1, local Dave Muir #448 in his Geiser Bros TT and Class 6 hard chargers James Mogford #6195 and Kye Camilleri #666 who are amongst the others to watch for outright honours.



Close battles across all classes are again expected at Burdekin this weekend; with Aaron Phillis #44, 2014 Burdekin champion Chris Colborne #169, Guy Hicks #163, local competitor Chris Land #180, Patrick Philp #182, Ryan Jones #1111 and James Sant #1144 amongst those set to be competitive in their respective classes.

Brent Storey #682, Brett Glazebrook #668, Jason Sait #606, and Tyson Howard #6168 are set to be in the mix for Class 6, whilst Steven Orr #1051, locals Daniel MacDonald #1052, Rob Stieber #1082, Brayden Mifsud #1026, and Stuart Chapman #1017 will lead the Class 10 brigade.



Luke #690s and Darren #689s Brandon will join Tony Patterson #675s and Kane Prechelt #694s in Class 6s. Colin Gaven #295, local Brian Bradford #264, Taylor Teichmann #236, Steven Von Pein #422, Rob Wearing #466, Tyler Youman #527, Nigel Pearce #6680, Sam #6671 and Brad Hancock #6671a, Warren Stevens #724, Chris Wieden #833, Rob Chapman #871, Stuart Zlotkowski #811 and John Alfred #819 are all other notables primed for a Burdekin assault.



The Queensland Off Road Racing Championship would like to thank their major naming right sponsors ARB and Mickey Thompson Tyres for continuing their strong partnership into 2023, whilst expressing full gratitude towards the other championship sponsors, including Dynamic Wheel Co, Lucas Papaw Remedies, Premium Soil Conditioners and Fertilisers, Comiskey Mining Services,  North Lakes Best Western plus Polaris Farm & Garden Produce.



The Burdekin Offroaders Inc would like to sincerely thank their sponsors, including their naming right Padman Water Solutions, along with Brown and Hurley Ag Ayr, Brian Bradford Painting, Autopro Ayr and Burdekin Motorcycles who have made the 2023 Burdekin Short Course possible.



With a quality line up of crews ready to hit the Ayr Rifle Range layout for the first time since 2021, it is anyone’s guess as to who will become this year’s Burdekin champion. With full camping and catering available, plus free spectating of the action, we will see you at the track from 7.45am both days. Queensland racing is alive and well!

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon