Cox Defends Burdekin Crown

Cox Defends Burdekin Crown


North Queenslanders Talbot Cox and Craig King #16 successfully defended their Burdekin Enduro title on Sunday, the now five time champions launched their 2024 season in style by claiming a 40 second victory.

Hosted by the Burdekin Offroaders Inc, the weekends event in Ayr played host to both Round 3 of the Mickey Thompson ARB Queensland Championship, and Round 1 of the North Queensland Chanpionship, and was proudly supported by Bendigo Bank Ayr and Home Hill, Burdekin Shire Council, and Rocks Farming Company. 

Starting from second on Saturday, Cox took control of the event early on lap one in dusty conditions and was never headed; finishing ahead of Club President Michael Marson and Michael Collins #32. 

Despite being the fastest car on track for Sunday’s three laps, Marson who last tasted success at Burdekin in 2016 finished the event with plenty of positives; locking in a spicy rematch at this year’s Don River Dash. 

Rounding out the Burdekin Enduro podium was Drew Callander and Dan Den Elzen #99, the V8 Razorback campaigners locked down their finest outright career result, crossing 10.29 mins adrift of Marson.

Tyler Youman and Graham Kluck #427 piloted their Toyota powered Trophy Truck to Class 4 honours and fourth outright in another breakthrough performance. Youman, who started the final day from 8th crossed 1.51 mins ahead of Class 1 victors David Loughnan and Matthew Reed #104 who rounded out the Burdekin top five.

Local member Dale McDonnell #608 drove his Can Am X3 superbly to claim the Class 6 silverware, holding off Aaron Nicoll #665 and outright prologue winner Brent Storey #682 in second and third. 

Jan Kraaj #1140 held on for a well deserved Class 11 crown, outlasting James Sant #1144 and Tom Jack #1118, whilst Christian Trusz #816 who finished day one in fourth outright survived Jack Henderson #807 in Class 8.

Michael Phillips #1024 continued his love affair with the Burdekin event producing a comfortable Class 10 victory, with Brayden Mifsud #1026 settling for second. Milk Boys Racing’s Mark Andrew #295 reigned supreme in Class 2, likewise Warren Stevens #762, Tony Butler #520, Kane Prechelt #694s and Les Long #6626 in their respective classes.


In other class results, the ever consistent Chris Colborne #169 and Darren Angel #160 rounded out the Class 1 podium, Robert Wearing #440 and Steven Von Pein #422 finished second and third respectively in Class 4, whilst Taylor Teichmann #236 and Ross Newman #6681 collected class silverware. 

15 of the 41 starters completed full race distance at Burdekin with notables not to finish including, Brent Storey #682, Brad Belcher #22, Tony Fehlhaber #138, Steven Von Pein #422, Brayden Mifsud #1026, Kye Floyd #685, Tony Butler #520, Trent Callander #127, Chris Land #80, Matthew Lawless #71, Ross Newman #6681 and Kye Camilleri #34.

The AORRA QLD Off Road Championship would again like to thank their naming right sponsors ARB & Mickey Thompson Tyres, and other championship sponsors including, Premium Soil Conditioners & Fertilisers, Lucas Papaw Remedies, Comiskey Mining Services, Link Engine Management, Farm & Garden Polaris, North Lakes Best Western Hotel & JSW Powersports for their continued partnership. 

The 2024 Mickey Thompson ARB Queensland Australian Off Road Championship will now turn its attention to Round 4, the KJN Electrical Dam Buster at St George; held over the 24-26th of May.

By TC Media 

Pics courtesy of Show ‘n’ Go Photography 

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon