Dunn secures Moranbah gold

Dunn secures Moranbah gold

By TC Media
Pics courtesy of Terry Hill Photography

North Queenslanders Dan Dunn and Ashton Dale #614 claimed an emotional outright victory on a dramatic final day of the 2023 Primec Moranbah Short Course, Round 4 of the ARB Mickey Thompson Tyres Queensland Championship, and Round 2 of the Mickey Thompson Tyres North Queensland Championship.

In his first season competing in over a decade, Dunn remained consistent on Sunday and capitalised on the misfortunes of overnight leaders Zac Marsh #6141 and Kye Camilleri #666 in the same heat to record an impressive two minute triumph in his Can Am X3.

SPLITS Racing’s Tony Patterson #6175S debuted his new Polaris Pro R in style around the tricky Moranbah circuit, taking home the Class 6S win and second outright in a breakthrough performance. Likewise, fellow Polaris campaigner Luke Brandon #690S secured his highest outright result in third, finishing a minute adrift of Patterson – the Junior title, and second in Class 6S his additional rewards.





Class 6 runner up Jason Sait #674 made it a weekend to remember for SPLITS Racing after nailing down a career best fourth outright on Sunday, whilst young gun Trent Callander #127 continued his rise with a convincing class win, second place in the juniors and fifth outright, just 3 seconds of Sait to round out the Moranbah top five.



DRELLs Run Racing’s Darren Brandon #689S continued his solid run of form in the team’s Polaris, taking home sixth outright and third spot in the hotly contested Class 6S, finishing 22 seconds ahead of Class 2 champion Brian Bradford #264 who crossed for back to back class victory’s after his recent success at Burdekin.

Graham Colbran #678 rounded out the Class 6 podium in eighth outright, 41 seconds ahead of Ultimate champion Drew Callander #99 who experienced throttle issues early Sunday, and Stuart Chapman #815 who stormed home late to bag the Class 8 title for Chapmans Offroad Racing in tenth.



Rob Stieber #1082 continued his love affair for North Queensland events with a comfortable Class 10 victory, overcoming Jason Keane #1013 for Moranbah honours, likewise James Sant #1144 who outlasted Symon Knight #1175 in his new Class 11 machine. Nigel Pearce #6608 held off a late challenge from Katelyn Long #6626 to collect the Class 66 silverware, with Shaun Bartlem #6616 rounding out the podium.

In other class results, the Milk Boys Racing team mates of Colin Gaven #295, and Mark Andrew #295a finished second and third respectively in Class 2, whilst overnight leader Stuart Zlotkowski #811 in the Settlement Creek Racing Brumby and championship stalwart Rob Chapman #871 locked in the Class 8 top three.

In the ladies class, Lara Brandon #689s piloted the teams Polaris brilliantly once again to take home the Moranbah silverware, surviving Leila Chapman #616S, and Katelyn Long #6626 for the title, Long also closed out the Juniors Class podium.

Toby Musico #6688 showcased his remarkable skills behind the wheel of his Polaris, for back to back Moranbah Future Champions Class wins, whilst the ever improving Mitch Jones #6631, Cooper Pearce #6608 and Hollie Gardiner #6689 completed the remaining positions.



25 of the 39 crews completed all laps at Moranbah, with notables not to finish including –  Kye Camilleri #666, Kane Prechelt #694S, Taylor Teichmann #264, Jason Keane #1013, Ross Challacombe #838, Symon Knight #1175, Ryland Burt #6169, and Ryan Jones #612S.

The Queensland Off Road Racing Championship would like to thank their major naming right sponsors ARB and Mickey Thompson Tyres for continuing their strong partnership in 2023, whilst expressing full gratitude towards the other championship sponsors; Dynamic Wheel Co, Lucas Papaw Remedies, Premium Soil Conditioners and Fertilisers, Comiskey Mining Services,  North Lakes Best Western, plus Polaris Farm & Garden Produce.



The Mackay Offroad Racing Inc. would again like to thank their event sponsors, including naming right partners Primec, along with JJ Richards, Total Generators, Ausco Buildings and Newman Trucking and Excavations who made the 2023 Moranbah Short Course possible.

The 2023 ARB Mickey Thompson Tires Queensland Off Road Racing Championship will now turn its attention to Round 5, the rescheduled Dalby Short Course to be held over the 15th and 16th of July.

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon