Marson’s Moment at St George

Marson’s Moment at St George

North Queenslanders Michael Marson and Chris Colborne #32 have secured a dominant victory at the weekends KJN Electrical Dam Buster 250 hosted by SEQORRA, Round 4 of the Queensland ARB Mickey Thompson Off Road Championship. 

Starting with a 37 second advantage, Marson and Colborne were never headed on Sunday, holding strong to record a 1.35min victory; their first outright triumph in several years.

Recent Burdekin Enduro champions Talbot Cox and Craig King #16 were impressive once again, finishing the weekend in second; a reversal of the top two at the previous round. 

Cox cruised to the chequered flag 7 mins ahead of young gun Trent Callander and Wes Roberts #127 who launched their Aussie built Southern Cross to third outright and Class 1 glory, in their finest result to date. 

Class 11 victors Jan Kraaj and Wessel Pieters #1140 continued their brilliant run of form to cross in fourth, ahead of David Loughnan and Tony Dunn #104 who rounded out the Dam Buster 250 top five, in consecutive fifth place finishes.

Former St George local Lachlan Waters #699 drove his Can Am X3 superbly on debut to claim the Class 6 silverware, holding off Polaris charger Kane Prechelt #694 and Darren Barker #611 in second and third respectively. 

Declan Cummins #1005 continued his love affair with the St George region claiming the Class 10 silverware, with Brayden Mifsud #1026 who overcame an alternator issue on Saturday and Michael Phillips #1024 rounding out the podium. 

Steven Kildey #412 was able to complete enough laps to secure Class 4 honours, whilst Ross Newman #6681, Warren Stevens #762, and Steven Ash #862 reigned in their respective classes. 

In other results, the ever consistent Kevy Nott #78 finished 6th outright and 3rd in the Ultimate Class, Darren Angel #160 made it back to back Class 1 podiums, Jim Zlotkowski #1154 claimed 2nd in Class 11, while Anthony Dalton #849 and Ross Challacombe #838 collected the remaining Class 8 silverware. 

22 of the 44 starters completed the full 220kms at St George, with notables not to finish including, Troy Duff #24, Steven Kildey #412, Brett Baker #124, Drew Callander #99, Russell Hartnett #1012, Tyler Youman #427, Steven Orr #1051, Matt Lawless #71 and Kate Swinglehurst #631. 

The AORRA QLD Off Road Championship would again like to thank their naming right sponsors ARB & Mickey Thompson Tyres, along with their other partners including, Premium Soil Conditioners & Fertilisers, Lucas Papaw Remedies, Comiskey Mining Services, Link Engine Management, Farm & Garden Polaris, North Lakes Best Western Hotel & JSW Powersports for their continued partnership. 

The 2024 Mickey Thompson ARB Queensland Australian Off Road Championship will now turn its attention to Round 5, the PDS Dalby Short Course; held over the 21st- 23rd of June. 

By TC Media 

Pics courtesy of Big Foot Media 

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon