Martin and Robinson Lead Hillston Field

Martin and Robinson Lead Hillston Field

The first two editions of the ARB Tyrepower Griffith The Gap 440 were dramatic and spectacular, and this weekend’s version headlined by two time ARB Australian champion Brent Martin #1 and ARB Big Desert 480 victor Beau Robinson #1113 promises to be just as intriguing.

Proudly hosted by the Griffith Off Road Club, the 2024 ARB Australian Off RoadRacing Championship kicks into gear on Saturday with 44 crews primed for Round 2, after the successful running of the ARB Big Desert 480 at Rainbow in March.

Spearheaded by defending champion Brent Martin #1, there are many including championship leader Beau Robinson #1113, Queenslanders Michael Marson #32, and Clayton Chapman #15, plus locals Jason Richards #119, and Steven Graham #1065 who will be vying for Hillston supremacy.

Anytime the calibre of recent Finke champion Beau Robinson #1113, and Brent Martin #1 who finished seven consecutive ARB rounds on the podium in the past two years are on the grid; you’re set for an incredible showdown

Throw in the experience and power of Michael Marson #32, 2023 Goondiwindi 500 champion Clayton Chapman #15 in his Toyota powered Razorback, and the local brigade of Jason Richards #119, Steven ‘Bowie’ Graham #1065 and Dean Meginley #1087, all seeking a home ground victory for the first time since Andy Ryan in 2017; Hillston is again set for an epic conclusion.

In the class previews, Cougar Racing’s Craig Barnett #68, last years ARB championship podium sitter Matthew Burrows #3, South Australian Simon Tucker #110, plus club members Dale Standen #23 and Glenn Collis #147 are ones to watch out for in the Ultimate and Class 1 contingent.

Joining Graham and Meginley in the hotly contested Class 10 field includes Queensland’s Russell Hartnett #1012 who finished 5th outright at Hillston in 2022, Stuart Chapman #1014, Sam Bentley #1018, and club president Karl Power #1047 who’s expected to be right in the mix.

Brendan Forssman #202 and Adrian Coatsworth #265 are ready to duel for Class 2 honours, current ARB Australian class champion Darren Frankling #1110, former Australian champion Hayden Bentley #1118, and James Sant #1144 join Robinson in Class 11, whilst newcomer Guy Shoemark #882 and Ross Newman #6681 are their sole class representatives.

Sea Lake’s Darren Mott #435, John Smith #445, and Paul Grant #405 will all like their chances in Class 4, likewise Heath Weedon #701 and Darren Gill #760 in the Patrol battle of Class 7, with Jackson Evans #635, Lachlan Campbell #607, Justin Rider #627, Mal Lynch #676 and Aaron Nicoll #665 set to clash for Class 6 supremacy.

The 2024 The Gap 440 would not be possible without the support of championship partners ARB 4X4 Accessories, Mickey Thompson Tyres, Raceline Wheels Australia, and Dynamic Wheel Co, along with the naming right sponsor Tyrepower Griffith; and camera sponsors Bursons, Serafin Ag Pro Fendt, Conipara Hotel, and Harveys Service Centre.

In addition, a massive thank you must go to the 2024 Gold Sponsors, including MR Trans, Show n Go Photography, Riverina Logistics, Deans Auto Electrical, Horne Ag, Farm Freight, Ag Grow, Terra Ag Fuel, Codemo, Elders Griffith, Melbergen Pastoral, Albins, McNabbs Mobile, Rivcott, and Lake Machinery Services.

Also, to all the other amazing sponsors either small, large or in-kind, including 50seven Automotive, Craig McKeon Earthmoving, Conipara Hotel and Dobija Print World who have all assisted in so many ways, thank you.

The action is scheduled to kick off from 10am Saturday and 8am Sunday with full catering available over the weekend at ‘Mactocton’, which is located 30kms east of Hillston – turn right off Kidman Way onto Parker’s Road and head 17km to the track.

The 2024 ARB Tyrepower Griffith The Gap 440 takes place in Hillston, New South Walesthis weekend, the 5th-7th of July.

By TC Media

Pics courtesy of Ratchet Off Road Photography and Clutch Life Media

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon