Trusz Dominant at Dalby

Trusz Dominant at Dalby

Trusz Dominant at Dalby

Class 8 stalwart Christian Trusz #816 entered the Queensland history books on Sunday after capturing a maiden outright victory at the PDS Dalby Short Course, proudly presented by Philp Diverse Services and Speciality Services QLD. 

In his famed orange Nissan Patrol, Trusz produced a sensational display of short course racing to claim a 2.03mins triumph; an emotional event win years in the making for the CBT Racing crew. 

On a cold weekend which presented crews with a variety of conditions, Trusz’s nearest rival was defending champion Richard Tassin #691 who again found the rough terrain to his liking, crossing second on Sunday in his Class 6 Can Am.

Picking up where he left off at Burdekin, Tyler Youman #427 in the teams Toyota powered Class 4 Trophy Truck rounded out the PDS Dalby podium; Youman finished 1.01mins adrift of Tassin, improving on his career best result.

Darren Barker #611 showcased his outright credentials crossing fourth outright and second in Class 6, whilst Class 4 runner up Steven Kildey #412 secured his highest outright finish in the teams new Killa Racing TT, rounding out the Dalby top five; a mere 2.3 seconds off Barker. 

Russell Hartnett #1012 returned to the Dalby podium in style, piloting his Ford powered Razorback to Class 10 honours and sixth outright, holding off Jason Keane #1013 and Andrew Murphy #1031 in second and third respectively. 

Class 1 championship leader David Loughnan #104 continued his flawless 2024 by recording another victory, with property owner Pat Philp #182 and Karin-Ann Barker #182a rounding out the podium. 

Jan Kraaj #1140 made it three consecutive Queensland Class 11 triumphs, outlasting James Zlotkowski #1154; whilst Colin Gaven #295 held on for Class 2 supremacy by a mere 46 seconds, overcoming teammate Mark Andrew #295a.

The Class 6s podium was an all Brandon affair with father Darren #689s holding on for victory in his DRELLs Run Racing Polaris, leaving son Luke #690s and daughter Lara #689s to share the minor placings.

In other class results, Jack Huxstep #711, Shaun Bartlem #6616, and Tony Butler #520 clocked up class victories, whilst Paul Youman #427, and Tim Dillon #638 both finished third in their respective classes. 

Lachlan Buchanan #6640 claimed 2nd in Class 66, while Goondiwindi’s Steven Ash #862 and Luke Peterson #878 collected Class 8 silverware behind outright champion Trusz. 

Dexter Warren #6645 showcased his skills behind the wheel to secure the Future Champions title in his offroad debut, likewise Cameron Krog #6623 who finished in second, and the ever speedy Toby Musico #6688 who succumbed to a last lap mechanical failure to cross in third. 

Lara Brandon #689s drove superbly all weekend to take the Ladies Class over Nicci Orr #1015, and Leila Chapman #616s, whilst Luke Brandon #690s and newcomer Jackson Nott #6178 topped the Junior ranks.

33 of the 51 starters completed full distance at Dalby, with notables not to finish including Steven Orr #1051, Stuart Chapman #815, Rob Stieber #1082, Kane Prechelt #694, Darren Angel #160, Brett Glazebrook #668, Lochlan Waters #699, Toby Musico #6688 and Lincoln Wilcox #717. 

The AORRA QLD Off Road Championship would again like to thank their naming right sponsors ARB & Mickey Thompson Tyres, along with their other partners including, Premium Soil Conditioners & Fertilisers, Lucas Papaw Remedies, Comiskey Mining Services, Link Engine Management, Farm & Garden Polaris, North Lakes Best Western Hotel & JSW Powersports for their continued partnership. 

The 2024 Mickey Thompson ARB Queensland Australian Off Road Championship will now turn its attention to Round 6, the Moranbah Short Course; held over the 19th-21st of July. 

By TC Media 

Pics courtesy of Spencerphoto

Latest News

2024 ARB National Off Road Racing Championship

Secure your participation in the 2024 ARB National Off-Road Racing Championship to guarantee that the points you earn actively contribute to the overall Championship standings.

    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop
      Calculate Shipping
      Apply Coupon